Disclaimer: We recently redesigned our Admin Area. Your store may look different than the one shown in this video, but most click paths were not affected.

<< PREVIOUS                                                                                                        NEXT >>

Transcript

In this video, we'll demonstrate how to import the CSV file we prepared in the video called "How to Prepare a Spreadsheet for Importing". We recommend that you watch it and the video called "How to Export Store Data" before proceeding because they contain information that may be relevant to the task you're trying to complete.

In your Admin Area, go to Inventory > Import/Export. Here, choose the section you'd like to import to. Then click Browse or Choose File to locate the CSV file on your local hard drive. Regardless of the format you used to export, save the file with the CSV extension before you attempt to import it. If you need assistance converting your file to CSV format, click Get Help.

The Overwrite Existing Data? section is extremely important, because making the wrong selection here is the #1 source of requests our Support team receives to restore website data from backup server files. This is a time-consuming and costly process that can be highly disruptive to your business.

The default selection, No, do not change any records already in my database tells the tool to add new items to your Admin Area only if the unique identifier value on the spreadsheet doesn’t already exist there. If the spreadsheet contains a row that corresponds to an already-existing item, the import tool ignores it. This is the option you should choose when you’re simply adding new products.

The second option, Yes, replace any existing data with my new updated data, tells the tool to add new items and overwrite data for existing items. In other words, if the tool identifies a match between the unique identifier value in the file and the Admin Area section, the new file value will overwrite the corresponding Admin Area value. This is the option you should use to edit existing items, whether or not you’re also adding new items at the same time.

The final option, Clear entire table (delete all records), and replace with this import file, erases all data in the Admin Area section before importing, and treats the new file as a substitute for it. If you accidentally choose this option when you intend only to add new data, or update existing data, you may lose a large amount of your store information. Always use extreme caution before proceeding with this selection. Whenever you use it, it's a good idea to first export a current copy of the section’s data to your local hard drive as a precaution.

When you’re ready to import, press the Import button. Once the process finishes, you can see the updated values in your Admin Area.

Did this answer your question?