Disclaimer: We recently redesigned our Admin Area. Your store may look different than the one shown in this video, but most click paths were not affected.

<< PREVIOUS                                                                                                        NEXT >>

Transcript

In this video, we'll use the ticket we created in the "How to Create a CRM System Ticket" video. Since the email address we used is listed in our store's Customers table, the header contains the customer's name, email address, and billing address, as well as links to their account page and to a query of the orders table containing only their orders.

If the address were not in the Customers table, we would only see the email address and an Assign button to create a customer account for them. In either scenario, the email generated by a ticket response will be sent to this address.

The Tickets tab displays the total number of tickets for this customer broken down by status, and displays basic details of the five most recent ones. You can access them by clicking the ID number. From the customer's view, the account displays all previous tickets.

In the Message section, we'll type the body of our message in the Body field. By default, any text you add here will be sent to the customer and recorded in the ticket. If you'd like to add a post that only administrators with CRM System access can view, click Add Private Note. You can easily switch back to the Reply option.

Note that the ticket is claimed by the admin account we're logged in with. This designation displays in the table viewer so other admins know you're working on it. You can remove this designation by clicking Release or re-claim it by clicking Make This My Ticket.

All new tickets have an Open status by default. After you post a reply, the status will depend on your selection from the Status After Post field. The default selection is Closed, but you can leave it open or move it to the On Hold queue.

An Open ticket generally means that your attention is required. Closed means that unless the customer adds another reply, no further attention is necessary. Any time a customer replies to a ticket, the status is automatically set to Open. The On Hold status is intended for tickets pending longer-term resolution that you prefer not to leave in the Open queue.

When you're finished configuring the ticket settings, click Post.

From the table viewer, you can sort tickets by any combination of department and status. For more details, see our video called "How to Create CRM System Departments".

You can add new replies to tickets regardless of their status, and regardless of the number of previous posts. You can also add attachments. Note the difference in appearance between the Reply post and the Add Private Note post. From the customer view, only the reply post appears.

The Save button applies only to features that display above it. Any admin with CRM System access can change a ticket's subject, status, department, or classification using the drop-down menus.

You can also add and save ticket notes here. These notes differ from the private note post because they don't appear as part of the ticket body, they’re anonymous, and they display on the table viewer. This feature is useful for adding simple issue-specific reminders or communications; you don't have to click into the ticket to view them as you do with private notes.

The ticket edit page remembers any edits made below the Save button after you click it, but they won't be permanently saved unless you click Post. Similarly, any edits made above the Save button won't be saved by clicking Post. In this case, though, the ticket edit page won't remember your edits, so be sure to save any changes you don't want to lose before making a post.

Note that on the table viewer, the batch processing menu allows you to perform many of the actions you can perform from the ticket edit screen, but for multiple tickets at once. Simply check the boxes corresponding to the tickets you'd like to edit, select the desired action from the Batch Action menu at the bottom, and click Save.

Did this answer your question?